Halfway Point

6 months, halfway there. It seems like its gone by in two seconds flat. Two of the most jam-packed, emotionally exhausting, sun kissed, insane seconds of my life.

While here, I’ve met friends I’ll never forget, men I’d like to, and beaches that remind me over and over again that I’m not in Kansas anymore.

It’s been a challenge from the start. Three fighting kids in the backseat of a car where I’m not only on the wrong side of the road, but the wrong side of the car. Cooking foods I’d never even heard of before on a militant schedule, to people I hardly knew. It took becoming stronger than I ever thought I’d need to be, but it was worth it.

But the other side is a dream! Sun, sand, surf, sushi: they have it all in Sydney*. I learned how not to raise my kids; the utter importance of hearing “I love you,” “I’m proud of you,” and “I’m sorry.” Learning so much about myself was not what I came here to do, it’s merely been an added bonus.

Maybe the biggest surprise came from back home. I was shocked how some people fell right out of my life, no matter how hard I tried to hold them into it. It was their time to leave, and that’s ok! I just had it penciled in my calendar for a couple more years down the road. I was even more surprised by how many people have been here with me every day. From postcards, to texts, Skype, and FaceTime- it’s really blown my mind, and made me feel loved and warm like I never had before. I’ve discovered that transplanting hemispheres is kind of like watching your funeral; You find out who really loves you. You hear from those who had regrets about how they treated you. And you can easily visualize what your life would be like if you were still at home, it’s completely linear direction that follows everyone else’s around you.

I’m finally in a place here where everything feels right. Adjustment period over, routine in place, desserts plentiful, ESPN- accessible.

I’m halfway, 6 months in and still going strong. This postgrad life down under isn’t even close to slowing down. In fact, I think I’m just now hitting my stride.

So for all of you asking; No, I don’t know when I’ll be home. It won’t be before July, but the rest is up in the air. I’ll be cheering on my boys in blue and missing every single one of you this March, and pinning Kansas close to my heart as always.

Loyally Crimson & Blue,

Katie

*except Taco Bell & BBQ dammit

Leave a Reply

